Okay so for those of you who don’t know I am currently working in a college call centre and I abso-flipping-lutely love it! Not only do I spend all day helping people on the phones, I get to spend it with people who I have grown to care very deeply about. I’ve only had this job for about 4 months but I have learnt so much from these wonderful people.

Now I don’t know about you, but I’m the type of person who will go into a shop for one specific thing and point out every single thing I think my friends would love. “A pair of socks designed to look like ballet shoes?! S- loves dance! I should get these for her!” or “A mug that says ‘Queen of Awesomeness’?! M- loves coffee! I should totally buy this!”Β – sound familiar? You see, I love the thought of making people happy and while gifts aren’t necessary at all to this I’ve found that every once in a while buying things for people doesn’t hurt (except maybe your bank account…)!

So, on Friday, I did just that. Not only did I buy a very personal gift for every single person I work with on a day-to-day basis but also wrote them a postcard thanking them for every silly little thing they’ve said or done to help me. Because, after all, it’s the silly little things that add up.

Now I usually get into the office before everyone else and after struggling in on the bus with two overfilled bags of presents I was overjoyed to see this was still the case this morning. I could tell you I didn’t prance around the office delivering the gifts to each person’s desk with a cheesy grin plastered on my face, but it would be a complete lie.

Gifts

After I’d done this I sat and watched each person walk in the room and react with a confused smile and ask why. But the thing is, I had no real reason other than the fact they have made my entire world so much better, happier, easier. They fill me with joy and laughter every single day and I honestly can’t tell you a place where I am more happy than I am at work. Every single person I work with is so different in personality yet each one of them gives me at least 5 reasons to smile every day; G tells me funny stories and treats me like her own child, S tells ridiculously funny jokes, D laughs at my lame jokes and cares and incredible amount, F is filled to the brim with sarcasm but also with kindness and M will always be my favourite singing partner and is incredibly sweet (after her morning coffee, of course)!

So you see, every single person at my work has had such a positive impact on my life and I’m not sure I would be who I am today without them. They have filled me with confident and every time they open their hearts and show kindness to me it genuinely does make me a better person. They have taught me that not all friends want to tear you down at any given chance or put limits on what they think you can achieve. These people have been like wings, lifting me higher and helping me achieve something I haven’t had for a while since now: to be happy being me.

So although a gift and some of my clumsy words on patterned paper isn’t a lot, to them it seemed to mean the world. And to me, that was all I needed to confirm they do care. A lot, in fact. And I guess that just lends truth to the fact that “happiness doesn’t result from what we get, but from what we give”.

~ Jem x

